Many unsuspecting drivers learn the hard way about Virginia State reckless driving laws. Many believe they were "just speeding" and are surprised that Virginia speeding laws can amount to Reckless Driving and are not prepayable offenses. The Courts require either the defendant or their lawyer appearing in court.
Virginia Code § 46.2-862 states: "A person shall be guilty of reckless driving who drives a motor vehicle on the highways in the Commonwealth (i) at a speed of twenty miles per hour or more in excess of the applicable maximum speed limit or (ii) in excess of eighty miles per hour regardless of the applicable maximum speed limit."
Virginia Code § 46.2-868 states, "Every person convicted of reckless driving ... shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor" which according to Virginia Code § 18.2-11 carries a maximum penalty of confinement in jail for not more than twelve months and a fine of not more than $2,500, either or both." The maximum punishment in reckless driving cases is extremely rare. Typical punishments include but are not limited to suspended jail time, if any, and fines ranging from $250.00 to $500.00 depending on actual speed.
Our Firm welcomes clients charged with reckless driving in: Northampton County General District Court located in Eastville, VA 23347. If you need representation, let us help! Our competitive flat fee rate will make your legal fees predictable with no hidden costs or charges.